Sunshine In My Eyes

Posted: December 21, 2008 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags: ,

Note on Photo: Large laarrrggee butterfly gliding around like a kite.  It's so big you could spot from far away.  It hung around, gliding majestically instead of streaking frantically like lots of butterflies like to do.

When Everything Is Right

I had one of those weekends where everything felt as if they were exactly how they were destined to be even if they were not how I had expected.  And while the sun seared into everything in my field of view like one of those really pleasant dreams, it was not difficult to believe that everything happens because they were meant to happen. 

Note on photo: AAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

And it was.  Because when I stopped to rest, a green twinkling star zoomed into view.  It was flipping those wings so fast, it was hard to tell what it was, except it really did look like a twinkling green star.

Note on photo: Oh thank you thank you thank you for not flying away…

I wouldn't usually run after a butterfly.  But I broke into a run and ran and ran and ran and ran and ran and ran until the twinkling star suddenly stopped and landed.  There's a leaf obstructing the angle from the sides but it did nothing to make it feel anything less wonderful. 

Note on photo: It really doesn't seem to know how long I'd been staring at it… 

As the minutes passed, I couldn't believe how I had managed to move from a few metres away till I was right in front of it, and then creeping to its side and then creeping back to the front.  And I couldn't believe it when it slowly, lightly began to spread its wings apart, lightly moving them in the strong wind.

I stopped hitting the trigger and stood there, catching my breath and not daring to move, just admiring how beautiful it was, everything from its squashed face, really short legs, stout rounded body to the thick tails of its amazing wings.

Note on photo: Very cooperative today…

A chance shot taken while running after the plain nawab.  What a name.  What a lousy name for such a fantastic creature.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Jaffnut says:

    Great to see some insects there amongst your wonderful butterflies!

  2. Ooh.. that weird leggy fella… I have no idea what it is… My Dad thinks it's an immature grasshopper… if there's such a thing… it's so strange…

  3. I almost couldn't believe it myself!!! 😛 Nawab!! 😀

  4. Shutterbug says:

    Have you ever seen The Butterfly Alphabet book? It's a book I use in my classroom with the little ones sometimes. If you haven't seen it before, each page is a close up magnified picture of a butterfly wing. There are a variety of species represented, and each letter of the alphabet is represented in some way. There is also a beautiful verse to go with each letter. The back cover shows the A-Z collection, as well as the numbers 0-9. It's an amazing book, and since you take such beautiful pictures of butterflies (and everything else, or that matter), I thought you might find it interesting. If you already have the book or have seen it, sorry for the rerun! (I think this is the longest comment I have ever left for someone!)

  5. liyafendi says:

    very beautiful photos, Ellen. You must be using great lens .

  6. Emjay says:

    Oooh – I enjoyed your "chase" of the butterflies – and such lovely photos. Not so keen about those last creatures though …. 🙂

  7. I meant to ask you where I can get this book much earlier but been away for a bit 😛 It sounds really lovely!!! Is it available online? I don't think they have this book here!

  8. Hi Liya! I'm using the Canon C180 🙂

  9. Thanks! 😛 I had no idea what they were carrying and I didn't stay to find out… eeky! 😀

  10. Shutterbug says:

    I think it might be out of print, but I did find it on Amazon (the US version). The book is by Kjell Sandved. There are a couple of books with that title (one I see a lot is a smaller book with little butterflies all over it). The one you would like has three-quarters of a large brown and yellow butterfly on the cover.
    I don't know if this will work, but I am going to include the link to the book's page. There are a handful of people that are selling it privately, and the price is pretty reasonable for a big hardcover book…under ten dollars!
    Here is the Amazon link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Butterfly-Alphabet-Kjell-Bloch-Sandved/dp/0590480030/ref=ed_oe_h
    I also found a softcover copy on Ebay for under ten dollars:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/The-Butterfly-Alphabet-by-Kjell-B-Sandved-1999_W0QQitemZ330293462193QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUS_Childrens_Books?hash=item330293462193&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1240%7C66%3A1%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A1%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A25
    Good luck! :o)

  11. Wow… I'm looking at the Amazon link now and it's really very beautiful and creative! If only they'd let me see the whole butterfly as well.. I would really be very interested to see what butterflies they are!!! What a great way to start children off with the alphabet instead of the conventional predictable cartoons!
    Thanks so much for the links!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

