Commonly Beautiful

Posted: January 10, 2009 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags: ,

Note on photo: Taken with manual focus and live view because it was almost impossible for me to lie on the ground.  It was so rocky.  Made me wish I was wearing roller blade elbow pads.  I spent such a long time to be parallel to the butterfly and then staying so still to wait for those wings to stop quivering, I think I'm sunburnt.

Note on photo: I followed this fella a long time before it decided to be still.  Even then it took me at least some minutes to move inches towards it before taking this shot. 

Note on photo: I tripped over a pot hole and nearly twisted my ankle in trying to track this fellow.

Note on photo: That is one fluffy butterfly point of view. 

Note on photo:  This butterfly was so still even after I jumped around and around it (to track down the bluebottle)… I thought it was dead….

Note on photo:  What are the odds… of having male and female common mormons sitting open winged and sleepily still on the same day out there??? 

Note on photo:  Ooh… check out the butterfly's short little legs swinging out to wipe its hairy face.  So weird seeing its neck all kinked and strained like that…     

Note on photo:  This fella was swatted so many times by larger butterflies I felt quite sorry for it.

Note on photo:  Argh!!!! Branch!!!! Grey Pansy giving me a really hard time…

Note on photo: Butterfly: "ZZzzzZZZzzzzzZZzzzz….*snort*…ZZzzzZzzzzz… *grunt*"

 

Note on photo: First shot of the devadatta…But conditions in the enclosed areas were so dark and so mushy soft and damp I couldn't set my monopod down anyway without it sinking into the mud.  Thus all blurred shots.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note on photo: woah… now that's what I call a SUPERIOR anal apendage… it's almost a CLAW.  But this is decoratus and not acutus alright because it's not curved inwards.

Note on photo:  You can see the straight apendages better here.

 

Note on photo:  I was looking for catepillars and found this leaf… that was ALIVE!!! and HAD LEGS!!! EEKS!!!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Emjay says:

    This is a sad post Ellen; but your photos are gorgeous as usual.. LOL – I can see you need to add elbow and knee pads to your camera bag!

  2. SusanMac says:

    It is wonderful that you can keep coming up with these wonderful shots. It always brightens my day. Hope life becomes a little easier for you and your friend.

  3. My dear Ellen, I wish I had a magic bullet to chase all the sadness and pain away. For you and your friend. And while I'm at it, I'd hand it out for all people who suffer. Life is so tough and cruel and unfair, at times. I hope you can get at least some joy out of your beautiful photos! I think, they are extra-beautiful, today. You are giving so much beauty and awe for nature to your friend's lives with them!

  4. cat says:

    Recently my drinking buddies have expanded tremendously in size – for a second there I thought you meant they had put on a lot of weight – because alcohol will definitely do that to you!

  5. Thanks Emjay! 🙂 I'm trying to figure out a way not to look stupid with elbow pads and knee pads wandering around with a big camera slugged over my neck… 😀
    maybe I'll wear them under my clothes… but that would be even sillier… 😛

  6. Thanks Susan! 🙂 Hope we get out of the woods soon … or at least while we're in the woods, we get to have some kind of fun (if that's possible… I don't foresee coming out of the woods being imminent …) 😛

  7. Hey Nikki! Glad to hear from you again! Erm… I think my friend wanted a real bullet… but you know around here we just have to make do with sleeping pills and razors… 😀

  8. Lol!!! That too they have!!! 😀 We have lately been comparing our cupcakes and spare tyres!!!! We're waiting to see who will turn into Jabba the Hut first. 😛

  9. Poor you. Don't you have those skyscrapers and trains in Singapore, too. Just kidding!!!! I'm selfish, I want you around for a very long time, and I want you to be happy, so your friend has to stay, too, even though I don't know her.

  10. That would just be too painful! haha! I'll probably have to make sure that she spends a lot of time concentrating on her hangover instead of making her way to the top floor!

  11. liyafendi says:

    your shots are really superb..the DOF are very smooth:) Great work, Ellen.

  12. tom says:

    Amazing post. The juxtaposition between these beautiful images and the narrative description of depression. Just amazing. The phrase that kept me going in my battle: a permanent solution to a temporary problem.

  13. That is a good point. I'm always glad I didn't kill myself when I'm finally over the problem and looking back to see how strange it was to have wanted to kill myself over *that*… well…

Leave a Reply

