Juggling Under Pressure

Posted: June 14, 2009 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags:

Note on photos above and on left: The lesser harlequin like most Riodinae turns and turns and turns.  We noted with amusement that it paused momentarily everytime it jumped to a different leaf before beginning its dizzying turns.

 

 

 

Distracted

I have had my attention scattered over multiple things at work recently over an important event.  This resulted in a colleague providing too much information over the past week.

Male Colleague: "I need extra extra large pants.  I see you have signed me in for 3 medium ones."

Me (distracted by urgent email): "….. erm…. huh?…."

Male Colleague (sheepishly trying to make me understand): "Ya… I know it's really late but I was on leave and I hope you can change the size for me anyway?" [turns around and points to his ass] "you see … although I look quite small above the waist, I am actually quite fat and my behind is quite big."

Me (suddenly waking up): "Oh ya ya ya! Don't worry don't worry! I change for you 'kay?"

But somehow the conversation stuck and now whenever I see his bespectacled face, I think "extra extra large pants".

Note on photo above: Bobbo joined in for the shoot this weekend and when I mentioned that there were malayan bush browns in the area, he wanted me to show him where.  When I brought him there, the browns were uncooperative and went deep into the brush.  In order to chase them out for him, I went stomping around and landed in a hidden drain.  He fished me out of there and we got away with only a record shot of the very impish butterfly.

Being There and Juggling Friends

I went to bed at 3a.m. on Friday night/Saturday morning after trying to juggle entertaining two groups of overseas friends (both of whom wanted to stay out late to drink) and lending a listening ear to a depressed friend (who wanted to stay out late to drink).

In order to make it all fit in one evening, I combined dinners for both groups (which resulted in both groups ignoring each other throughout dinner because one group was from Australia and couldn't speak Mandarin and the other was from Malaysia and preferred to converse in Mandarin) and then having drinks with everyone (including depressed friend).

I wanted to sidle away but depressed friend said: "You always do this to me! I want you to stay! Stay! Stay!"

So I ended up waking up late, unpacked, forgot various pieces of equipment and got to meeting point late.

Note on photo above: Bobbo had an agenda to find the yellow flash this weekend on his rare visa.  But he got second best with a somewhat- similar- but- not- quite suffused flash.

The Empty Sanctuary

I brought Yoda of the butterflies to the Great Helen's Sanctuary.  But it had rained and it was about to rain.  And you can always tell when you wait in a spot of sunshine and the butterflies don't come out in full force because they already know in their tingly fluttery senses that it's going to rain.

Note on photo above: The Arhopalas are out in full force and they all look terribly alike.

Not Quite Lost

After I brought Yoda of the butterflies down the trench and up the trail where I got lost, my great adventure was quickly de-dramatised when I realised on this second visit that:

1) The trench was actually a drain

2) The trail with the inviting paint marks was actually next to a road

A van trundled by as if mocking me.  Yoda went down the 'trench' gamely with me but there were no awls.  There was just nothing at all at the sanctuary that weekend.  It was all very disappointing.

 

Note on photo: I only managed to squeeze off a few shots before the rain began to fall.  Yoda emphasized (while shooting in the rain) that this was a very very rare butterfly and he continued to shoot in the rain with his head obscured in the leaves of the tree while I gawped at him in from behind.

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Trailblazer says:

    There are no words in the English language to describe the beauty you capture, somehow the words 'pants' and 'depressed' keeping creeping in as I try to wing my way through the "mating nacaduba calauria malayica"

  2. Emjay says:

    The horsefield baron is gorgeously understated! Sorry you had to hang out with those nasty Aussies! LOL…. 😉

  3. Waterbaby says:

    Your pics are wonderful. I'm particularly fond of the first one – restful. If you ever want a stand-in for those late-night sessions, I'm available, call me. I'm routinely up till 4 a.m. (last night, errr, this morning, was up till 7:30 a.m., a bit too late even for me).

  4. Heh! Yeah… those latin names can get real tongue twisty! 😛 and yeah… lots of depressed people and extra extra large pants around these days… 😦

  5. Nawww… they were really nice… I've known her for 10 years (and her boyfriend for about 2 hours.. haha). It's just that it's quite impossible when one group speaks almost little or no english while the other one does. After a few enthusiastic tries, each group kinda collapsed into themselves… hahaha 😛

  6. Woah… 7.30? That kinda overkills the idea of staying out late. I've been asked before to stay till breakfast. But usually when I do that, they have to jumpstart me like a car with a dead battery… 😛 You got some stamina!!!

  7. Waterbaby says:

    I'm a night owl, always have been. 🙂

  8. I'm going to need to be like you for the next few weeks 😦 sigh…

  9. Waterbaby says:

    feel free! i've got enough night energy for three. i just hope that if the time comes i need to be up before noon, you'll shoot over some of that a.m. energy.

Leave a Reply

