Sleeping With The Enemy

Posted: July 7, 2009 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags:

Note on photo above: The Big Butterfly Machine is actually a butterfly enclosure within the hort park where they conduct research and attempt to reintroduce certain extinct species.  The Small Twin was the industrious little worker inside the Big Machine, potting, trimming and plucking away.

Sleeping With The Enemy

I turned up at what I call The Big Butterfly Machine one morning with my full camera set up and rhen realised I forgot to bring my memory card.  This has always been one of my most obsessive checks.  But due to the A. Y. G. and extended period of killing myself over the event with gastric, weird meal times and sleep times, I haven't had the luxury to check and double check.

So the Small Twin lent me his Nikon (the enemy!) to shoot away with and I fell asleep while waiting for his slow slow Tamron lens to focus… Bbbbbrrrrrrr(*yawn*)rrrrrrrr(*cough*)rrrrrrrrrrrr(zzzzz….)rrrrrr……-_-

Surprisingly, the shots weren't all bad either. 

Note on photo above: Some of Small Twin's babies in the Big Butterfly Machine.  He looks after these affectionately… although he's had to 'slap' a few Common Rose caterpillars to show his awed crowd the caterpillar's smelly little osmeterium ('tongue').  

Note on photo above: If it weren't for the butterfly in the corner whacking away at this butterfly 5 times its size, it wouldn't have opened its wings for me to take this beautiful open winged shot.

Can't Get 'Em Out Of My Head

Question: How do you know it's a female butterfly?

Answer: See the handbag she's carrying?

Question: How come the butterflies are out here when it's raining?

Answer: It's been raining all morning.  They are all tired of hanging upside down under the leaves the whole day.  Gotta get out and stretch their wings.

Note on photo above: Here it is without anyone to pester it to open its wings.  Small Twin sadly said that it was the last Big Pretty in the Big Butterfly Machine.

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Waterbaby says:

    remarkable as ever. how is it you come to all these varied butterflies?! is there a sanctuary nearby or? …

  2. Raymond says:

    Beautiful photos. Know what ya mean about the obsesssions. Sometimes will be sitting in a quite little coffee shop…when all of a sudden I'll have a tremendous fear flood thru my awareness and scream, OMG, where's my camera? My adrenaline is speeding around my body like a BB bouncing around a barrell. I have to literally force myself to slow down, still too fast, slow down, calmly now, a little more…now think. I put it up under the hidden spot didn't I? Yes, wait, didn't I? Yeah, sure that's right…or wait, OMG am I sure…? I carry my camera every where, and when I don't…I always seem to have these fears. I'm sure its probably crazy or something. But I know its real regardless of what anybody else might say.

  3. Silvia says:

    Aswome photos!

  4. Yes Waterbaby 🙂 These photos were taken in a butterfly enclosure that is focusing on butterfly conservation and reintroduction of extinct species 🙂 Thanks for the kind comments 😛 Normally I shoot in the wild though… kinda has more thrill that way…

  5. I usually just go: "AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH – oh there's my camera!"
    You're steady!

  6. Raymond says:

    Not really! I generally turn into a basket case. Don't laugh…but I have been known to walk back two miles just to check if my camera is still in the hidden spot. Yeah, i got it bad… 🙂

  7. Waterbaby says:

    Normally I shoot in the wild though… kinda has more thrill that way… lol. Well, I enjoy your pics from the "enclosed wild" all the same. 😉

  8. Trailblazer says:

    Poetry as good as it gets . . .

  9. gorgeous butterflies! Tree Nymphs are one of my favorites – they are so graceful! and I like tall curly-haired men too 🙂

  10. I totally understand… I would have said "let's go back now!" and walked back two miles with you if you had asked: "I can't remember if I'd put my camera in the right place… do you think I should go back and check?"
    Hahahaa.. I wake up in the middle of the night to check that I've put my camera back in the dry box. 😛

  11. Thanks 😛 I feel like I'm cheating sometimes though 😛

  12. Hurray for tall curly haired handsome men 😛 Thanks for the kind comments 😀

  13. I recommend to you to visit a site, with a large quantity of articles on a theme interesting you.

Leave a Reply

