Nah.

Posted: July 9, 2009 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags:

Will you be my girlfriend? asked Random Guy after a short short period of dating.

So I calculated carefully…objectively… analytically…  

1) Do I like Random Guy?

Random Guy is tall (1 point), dark (no points), ok looking (1 point), a teacher (1 point), young (1 point) and loved the same things that I did (1 point).  Except that he couldn't scuba dive (-1 point).  He's averagely smart (0.5 point), averagely well-dressed (0.5 point), averagely Joe (0.5 point).  Which totals to 5.5 points which means I should like him.

But I don't,,,

A little voice in my head says… come on.  Why are you so darn picky?  Give you a few more years and you'll wonder where all the Random Guys went.  Which leads me to the next question…

2) Can I just go out with Random Guy for other things more objective than non-existent feelings?

Yes.

a. Got a car

b. Got a stable job

c. Comes from a good family

d. Doesn't look like a psychopath… yet….

e. Got someone to hang out with at shopping malls and bring around to various functions

f. Can do all the couply things couples do.

g. Everybody needs somebody in the end.  You might as well make do.

But…

a. I don't need anyone to bring me around

b. I take care of my own financial needs

c. That don't mean nothing about a person in the end.  A person is whoever he chooses ultimately to be in the end regardless of his background although that does determine the size of the mountain he/she has to climb.

d. All men are psychopaths in the end…(ok… some of them…)

e. I don't like to shop.  I don't go to functions.  I strictly do only the things I would enjoy with or without anyone in my hours that I am free to choose to do so.

f. Couply things are bullshit …

g.  Nobody ever needs anybody that much.  We can all make do very well on our own.

Yes.  Couply things are bullshit…and nobody ever needs anybody that much… unless it fulfills the 3rd question:

3) Am I so blinded that I can't ask Questions 1 and 2?

Am I so blinded that I would hold him, care for him, be there for him, want to understand him, think of him, worry about him, want to walk down years with him even though:

He's too old, too young, too fat, too thin, too short, too tall, too dark, too pale, too nerdy, too sporty, too ambitious, psychotic, too dumb, too smart, too oblivious, too sensitive, too clean, too dirty, too selfish, too generous, too everything that anybody in their right minds would shake their heads and say…No…No…No….

It's different from making do.

Yes.  All love is blind.  Else mothers would not love their " too old, too young, too fat, too thin, too short, too tall, too dark, too pale, too nerdy, too sporty, too ambitious, psychotic, too dumb, too smart, too oblivious, too sensitive, too clean, too dirty, too selfish, too generous, too everything that anybody in their right minds would shake their heads and say…No…No…No…." children.

So I guess since I've already asked Questions 1 and 2, there's no need to think about Question 3 anymore.

Read and post comments

Comments
  1. Drude says:

    I have dated 'why not'-guy… and regretted it. Think of his feelings too…

  2. Raymond says:

    I suspect (notice I don't say I know) a meaningful relationship is something one sees shadowy, vaguely through the uncertain fog of risk. The good news however, is that a fog has a tendency to part in the presence of movement.

  3. Trailblazer says:

    Like many of the creative sort, you are happy being alone. There is no hard and fast rule about having to be a couple, other than societal pressure. Do what you love, spend time with what you love and maybe, just maybe the one you will love someday may show up. If not, you still have what makes you soar.

  4. Waterbaby says:

    Averagely smart merits 0.5 point? For me, that's a no-brainer! As in run, run for the hills! And fast!! My only wise words: There's a distinction between unconditional love and settling.

  5. Emjay says:

    I think if you have to wonder if you can "make do" then you shouldn't. 🙂

  6. True… Forgot to factor in his feelings in my analysis… hee hee 😛 *selfish*

  7. *runs around rapidly in hope that fog will lift* (fog clears.. looks at Random Guy -in plain view)… ah shucks… now I'm very clear that it's an obvious no-no 😛

  8. I totally agree with you. Happiness should never be in the hands of anybody else but oneself. 🙂

  9. I agree… it's actually much more difficult to just settle… I feel. Even though it looks like the person who settles is making a selfish choice for his or her own benefit, it's actually really really difficult to pretend to like someone when you don't. 😛

  10. Yeah…I was already at no when I even had to consider that hard 😛

  11. Waterbaby says:

    LOL. I guess. I've never once tried to pretend to like someone I don't. As anyone who knows me will attest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

