Sleeping Beauties

Posted: July 12, 2009 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags:

Note on photo above: This female walked backwards towards the end of this leaf and looked like it was about to lay an egg when a car drove by and frightened it away.  So I can attribute the lack of butterfly activity to the incessant activity of people and cars. 

Great Big Butterfly Drought

It rained again today.  Rained almost the whole morning away and the weather forecasted that it would rain again in the afternoon.

I went out to a nearby site since I was supposed to meet my friends for a late afternoon movie.  And the Alien from KL brought along his Hasselblad to shoot flowers and leaves instead of butterflies.

That was all good except that I had resorted to walking along a 45 degree slope due to lack of activity on my normal trails.  And this I did, with the poor guy struggling behind with 3 cameras and a tripod, setting up his Hasselblad halfway in the middle of nowhere to photograph a humble little part of a humble little plant.

I did my best not to disturb him but had to call out to him everytime I disappeared in a different direction so that he wouldn't find himself alone when he looked up from his Hasselblad.

Note on photo above: Something freaky happened to my camera settings while I was out trundling along the trails.  The colour washed out in the photos and I couldn't find out what was causing it and had to reset all camera settings and start over.

The lack of activity was so rampant that Gandalf said he hadn't had much activity on another site either. 

This he said when he turned up unexpectedly in his car while I was sitting on a bench waiting for the Alien from KL to finish fiddling with his Hasselblad some distance up the hill, with my hands propped up behind my head, having totally given up on searching for winged subjects.

Note on photo above: Bobbo managed to lift this mating pair onto his finger and then onto a branch so that we could get a better angle of them.  This is the first time I've ever seen anyone carry off a stunt like that on a mating pair.

I did however encounter a large coffee coloured moth in the ladies' toilet on the site like a terribly sincere, pithy consolation prize from Mother Nature for my efforts.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Shutterbug says:

    Congrats on making the culture page! :o)

  2. Thanks! Surprised to be able to make it! 😛

Leave a Reply

