Butterflies In Flight

Posted: July 25, 2009 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags: ,

Note on photo: This is not what I would usually call a good shot but somehow.. I just love this photo and so I'm putting this first.

Note on photo above: I haven't seen this fella for ages.  And today it turned up trying to puddle on the wet ground.  Must be a male butterfly.

 

Note on photo above: On the way back, I came across two Common Mormon males chasing a larger female around a wall of small tiny white flowers. It was the most hilarious sight.  Look at the rest of the photos below.

 

 

Note on photo above: This is different form of the female common mormon.

 

Note on photo above: I bought a multi-function tool to use in the forest.  Plier cutters for spiked vines and a good sharp blade for preparing butterfly bait… also for the occasional male in the forest who has no control over his needs.  Here the male cruiser is taking his time to check out the tool and scratching his butt (abdomen down on the ground) as well… typical male! 

Note on photo above: The Yamfly above had a very pale topside and no tail… apparently quite faded and chipped… but nice to see again… this is only the 3rd time I've seen it.

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Lauri says:

    I like your advice to the pregnant woman MUCH better than the counselor's advice. Much more sensible and evolved! "Men have needs" is a pathetic excuse!

  2. Trailblazer says:

    Men have the need to procreate as a fail-safe mechanism to prevent the race from dying out – or so I've read. Hmmm. One woman said that after surgery they gave her doses of testosterone to help in the healing process. She said all she could think about was sex . . . now feels sorry for those poor victims who can't control their biological urges. Right. Concubines, soiled doves, hookers, whatever you want to call them will always be available because men are what they are. After-all, who can we blame? Adam, no doubt.

  3. Emjay says:

    Great shots Ellen – I especially like the one of the butterfly checking out your utility tool!

  4. Jaffnut says:

    Butterfly bait hey, so that's your secret!!! ;-). Love the bug shots.

  5. Must be the same compulsion as alcohol… I have needs… I need to drink… I dare any guy to out-argue me on this need. But I will lose to rational women of course. 🙂

  6. Thanks Emjay 😀 Silly cruiser 🙂

  7. Yeah… butterflies go to smelly things actually… I haven't tried my trail socks yet but they do sometimes land on me when I'm covered in my sweat and start probing me with their proboscis 🙂 😀

  8. Shutterbug says:

    Hmmmmm…..perhaps the next stage of your life should involve writing a non-psycho-babbly self-help book for women in bad relationships. I think it would be a best seller!

Leave a Reply

