My First Dive Buddy (Olympus SP-700)

Posted: August 16, 2009 in macro photography, underwater photography

My First Dive Buddy

My first dive buddy has retired.  Over National Day holidays, it blacked out on me about 2 times on each of my 10 dives.  And I knew that it was ready to retire to flippant point and shoot land photography.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So what you see here will be the last underwater photos taken with the Olympus SP-700.  I wouldn't say that they are great, given my lack of strobe and limited capabilities of the SP-700. 

Lots of backscatter in these photos is due to newbie divers kicking up silt onto me, my camera and onto my subjects.  Sometimes that make for some strangely appealing photos (like the one below of the sad-looking tomato anemone fish framed in a cloud of silt).

My Olympus SP-700 was with me for my first whale shark sighting, my first manta ray sighting, my first turtle sighting, my first dives over 40m (even though the camera proofing is only up till 40m), and about 200 giant stride and backward roll knocks and scuffs.

 

 

 

 

 

When I was walking up and down considering whether or not to make you my first dive buddy, my Mum said: "What for?  At most take photos of you, take photos of me."  Little did she think that you and I would have seen so much together.

So rest well, my dear dive buddy.  Thank you for the great memories.  And in you go into my little shrine.

 

 

 

Now you can compete with my Canon 40D when we go on road trips together.  Or I guess not.  Because you froze up when I used you to take a photo of my Canon 40D.  Probably due to jealousy.

 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. fatcat says:

    The dream sounds horrible! The pictures, on the other hand, are wonderful. Your dive buddy has done good work!

  2. Considering it's an early generation underwater point and shoot… I can't say that I'm unhappy with them either 😛

  3. Shutterbug says:

    Your dream sounds so terrifying! *shivers* As for the french dude, what a creep! Sounds like he has an overwhelming sense of entitlement. You seriously didn't want to get a piece of that? 😉 How horrible to be trapped on a boat with him, with no means of escape. And to turn it around on you, making you the bad one because you were very vocally spurning his over-amorous advances…grrrr!

  4. Emjay says:

    Wonderful photos ellen. That transparent shrimp is a cool looking creature. I would not like to be trapped on a boat with an obnoxious person.

  5. Waterbaby says:

    I'm with all the comments here. It's different to be taken to the underwater instead of the land of butterflies. I like it – but you already knew that. 😉 Your dream sounds frightening.

  6. Yeah… it was unpleasant to the point that I was asking the Heavens why I ended up in this kind of situation when I left in the first place to get away and get some peace… but at least Spike here gave him a taste of his own medicine 😛

  7. Obnoxious. Yes. That's the word I was looking for. 😀 I came across the shrimp while looking for something much bigger (butterflyfishes and scorpionfishes) 😀

  8. Thanks for your appreciation Waterbaby! 🙂 Yeah… the trapped and isolated feeling from the nightmare echoed with me during my waking hours long after the nightmare ended… perhaps it's a reflection of my reality. Or my warped perception of reality and fears anyway…

  9. Waterbaby says:

    I can sympathize. A lot of elements in your dream mirror those of a recurring nightmare I've had for more than 3 decades.

  10. I am always happy to see your underwater photos. Because they are so beautiful and interesting, of course, but mainly because I know, you've been to a place that's a sort of home to you. Gosh, I hate that Frenchie for spoiling it for you. I hate guys like that, who blame the other for their bad behaviour to protect their ego. I really can't stand that kind of guy, and there are too many of them around.For the dream… it is very touching and so strong. I can't put a finger on what it is, but in all desperation and pain I can feel a strong and positive message in it. You may call me crazy, but I feel there is some kind of enigma and way out to discover in its strong images. As I said, just a dim yet strong intution of mine. I'll let you know, if I can put it into words.What a coincidence: The day you were posting this, my niece sent me an e-mail telling me, she wants to come to Cologne for a concert of All Time Low. I never heard about them before. She wants to come with three friends, and I guess she thinks, they can all stay at my place for the night. Four teenage girls in my little flat. I don't know…

  11. chanelbags says:

    only conclude that lida daidaihua has to provide the necessary product information to support the weight loss claims made. lida
    may contain 7-Keto DHEA that has been clinically proven to increase
    resting metabolic rate in humans and may aid weight loss when combined
    with a calorie-restricted diet; and the advertising for daidaihua has to provide some scientific information about their product to support their claims. With full disclosure about lida slimming ingredients, ingredient amounts and references to published.

Leave a Reply

