“Forever Young”

Posted: October 4, 2009 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Herman Hamli – August 12th 1974 – October 3rd 2009

Hey Herman,

Stop playing around.  You can't be gone. 

You're just hiding behind the pillar like when I bumped into you at Raffles City.  You like to do that.  And you were sniggering cos you thought you could hide from me.

You said my face looked murderous (I was working on a big event) and told me to chill.

I like how you always say that.  Relax, relax, relax.  But you were the first one to ask if I was okay when I facebooked that I had been diagnosed with barotrauma.  Sadly, that was the last conversation we had.  And you said "ok take care".

I swear… at that time I thought we could hang out sometimes at the dive shop and laugh about what a wussy I am.  Always whining about this and about that.

Argh Herman.  You were like part of the dive shop to me.  Like I thought you'd always be hanging around all the wetsuits and regulators.  Not seeing you there is just strange.  I thought we agreed to do dinner again sometime.

You never take anything seriously do you?  Right when everybody was telling me what a loser I was in refusing to move on, refusing to complete my studies, refusing to get off my ass and do all the things I had to do, you never said I was indulgent and pathetic.  You just said: "take your time, take your time, when you're ready, you'll know it."

You should have been there.  I don't know if you were.  You were and still are so loved.  We almost couldn't squeeze everybody in to say goodbye.  But Life's strange like that.  The loved are taken so easily. 

And when I think about it, all I can remember is your laughter and your eye rolling and the way you go -_- at all my corny jokes. 

Knowing you…. you would probably laugh at this, even this…

I never knew anyone who could shrug off so much the way you do while knowing at the same time the weight of Life's burden.

I will think of you in the lighter moments of the day and the quieter moments of the night.  I will think of you when I am in the sea.  I will think of you when I am looking out over the ocean. 

Goodnight Herman. Sleep tight.  God willing, we will meet in a better place than this. 

"Let us die young or let us live forever…"

Forever Young

   

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Shutterbug says:

    I'm really sorry for your loss šŸ˜¦

  2. fatcat says:

    (((hugs))) My condolences. Your post is a lovely tribute to what sounds like a wonderful man.

  3. I am so sorry for your loss, Ellen. Herman sounds like he was a wonderful and fun guy to be around and a caring counselor, too. You paid wonderful tribute to him in your post. I am sure, you will keep him and his advice in your heart.

  4. Emjay says:

    Ellen, this is a lovely tribute to your friend. May Herman rest in peace.

  5. DKN says:

    I'm so sorry for your loos – he looks like he was such a fun guy šŸ˜¦

  6. Thanks…It's an unimaginable loss… I keep forgetting I'm not going to be seeing him around anytime soon. Which is quite weird. I feel like he's gone overseas and will be back in some distant future. And then we'll hang out… šŸ™‚

  7. True, it is so difficult to understand and realize the death of somebody you weren't around every day. Just seems so unreal. It takes time to sink in. A colleague of my age died shortly after I had left that company. It was near impossible to imagine him dead. I met his older brother to tell him about those little stories and jokes of our everday work life, together, and we visited the grave. It helped me to understand what had happended. His brother told me, it did him good to hear those stories and to know that his younger brother was appreciated and missed.

Leave a Reply

