A Mystery Blue

Posted: February 13, 2010 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags: ,

I came across an odd looking butterfly today.  It fluttered into view while I was standing in deep shade and landed on a palm plant.  Looking at its size, I thought it was one of the confusing but common "blues"/caeruleans… until it rubbed it's hind wings together (a habit of some of these tailed butterflies,,, probably so as to attract would be predators to its "fake head" instead).

Compared to most butterflies in the same group, this butterfly has a relatively larger yellow tornal area.  In fact, it was large enough to get my attention even at more than a few metres away when the butterfly angled its hindwings while moving them.

The closest match to this butterfly was the Jamides virgulatus nisanca.  But there is a breaking of the tornal area towards the bottom of the hindwing on the butterfly's plate in Corbet & Pendlebury.  

Anybody with any information on this butterfly, I would really be very grateful if you could drop a message or email if you've seen it anywhere and if you know its identity.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Apolline says:

    Very nice mystery ! … Like many people, I don't know what I see ! … I can't help you other than my warm encouragements …

  2. In my opinion, it is actual, I will take part in discussion. Together we can come to a right answer.

Leave a Reply

