Nightjars In The Sun

Posted: March 28, 2010 in butterflies, macro photography
Tags: ,

Takeaway Butterfly

An overly-friendly Ciliate Blue rode on my shoulder at the tip of my monopod for more than half an hour, flying off and coming back again with each disruptive motion of trudging on the muddy slopes. 

After tiring of my monopod, which it appeared to be feeding on, it crawled all over my pants and made itself at home on the top of a fold near my ankle, opening up its wings to soak up the morning sun. It even rode on my finger after finding the flopping of the fold while I walked unconducive for sun-bathing.

This is a male as females are brown above  and it was puddling on muddy ground before deciding that monopods and field pants have seen more in their travels and could provide more nutrients to increase its mating success.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Ciliate Blue is common here and its young feeds on Saraca thaipingensis and is dependent on Fire Ants for survival.  (Ref: http://butterflycircle.com/checklist2/index.php?page=butt_details&butt_id=176).

Second Encounters

I came across the large, powerful bodied apicalis again close to the site where I first saw it.  It didn't tolerate my flash at a distance less than a metre and was hanging around a large-leafed bamboo tree. 

Nightjars In The Sun

I shot my first Large-tailed night jar (Caprimulgus macrurus) today after the camouflauge of one was given away by the other who decided not to take any chances with an approaching photographer.  The other stayed in the hope that it looked enough like a rock or a combination of dead leaves so that I would walk past.  But its wedge shaped tail gave it away.  And I was so elated when I saw it through my lens that I fired away without switching off the flash. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

These nocturnal birds hunt during the evenings and early mornings.  Large-tailed night jars nest on bare ground beneath a tree and rests on the ground or a low perch during the day (Ref: A Photographic Guide to the Bird of South east Asia by Morton Strange)

After the first round of shots, the poor bird tolerated, all squinty and irritated.  But when I crouched down to get closer, it took off with a soft "FOP" and settled in the dark shade of a nearby tree where I decided to leave it in peace.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Comments
  1. Thanks Lauri! 😀